Interview with our intern

Isabelle Marie Kaufer Enlarge image Isabelle Marie Kaufer (© Isabelle Marie Kaufer) Students have the possibility to apply for an internship at numerous German foreign missions – including Vancouver! An internship at the German Consulate General in Vancouver provides an exciting insight into the department Press, Cultural and Economic Affairs. Additionally, Vancouver offers a wide range of interesting activities.

From September to December, Isabelle worked as an intern in Vancouver. In this interview she shares some of her thoughts about her time in Vancouver. Isabelle is 26 years old and currently doing her Master’s degree in Moving Cultures – Transcultural Encounters at the Goethe-University in Frankfurt.  

 

Why did you decide to apply for an internship at a German foreign mission?

I have been interested in doing an internship at a German foreign mission for quite some time now. Since my master’s program includes a mandatory internship, I finally had the opportunity to follow through with my idea.  First of all, there were pragmatic reasons for my application. I had planned to do an internship abroad, but didn’t have a precise location in mind. Being able to apply for different Foreign Offices had been a great advantage. With regard to my field of study and my career I decided to apply for an internship within the press and culture section which I expected to be very exciting.

 

How did you like Vancouver as an internship location?

In my opinion, Vancouver is a perfect place for an internship. Many Germans live in the Consulate General’s administrative district and there are numerous institutions and events with reference to Germany. Due to this fact, working in the press and cultural department of the German Consulate General has been very exciting. Granted, living in Vancouver is not cheap. But the city has a lot to offer, including breathtaking nature in the Lower Mainland. Another advantage is public transport, which is well-developed compared to other North American cities. You really don’t need a car to discover Vancouver.  In addition, many people don’t know that Vancouver is among the top three movie industry locations in North America. There is always a movie set somewhere in town. And if you’re lucky enough you might meet actors like Dwayne Johnson or Ryan Reynolds on the street.

 

What advice would you give to future interns?

Prior to your internship: Take care of all the paperwork such as acquiring your open work permit or getting your finances in order as early as possible.  During your internship your creativity and your self-initiative are in demand. If you work independently and bring forward your own ideas you don’t have to fear repetitive tasks and you will have a great time here.   

Thank you very much, Isabelle!

Time and weather in Germany

Berlin:
12:50:49 1 °C
Deutscher Wetterdienst

Event Search

Interview der Praktikantin im Generalkonsulat

Isabelle Marie Kaufer Bild vergrößern Isabelle Marie Kaufer (© Isabelle Marie Kaufer) Studierende können sich für ein Pflichtpraktikum an einer deutschen Auslandsvertretung  bewerben – auch bei uns! Ein Praktikum im Deutschen Generalkonsulat in Vancouver ermöglicht interessante Einblicke in den Presse- und Kulturbereich einer deutschen Auslandsvertretung. Noch dazu ist Vancouver eine Stadt mit vielen Möglichkeiten.

Isabelle Kaufer war von September bis Dezember Praktikantin in Vancouver und erzählt, welche Erfahrungen sie bei uns gemacht hat. Sie ist 26 Jahre alt und studiert derzeit im 3. Semester im Masterstudiengang Moving Cultures – Transcultural Encounters an der Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt.

 

Warum haben Sie sich für ein Praktikum bei einer deutschen Auslandsvertretung beworben?

Ich habe mich schon länger für ein Praktikum beim Auswärtigen Amt interessiert. Da in meinem Masterstudium ein Pflichtpraktikum vorgesehen ist, hatte sich nun auch endlich die Gelegenheit dazu geboten. Für die Bewerbung hatte ich zunächst ganz pragmatische Gründe: Ich wollte bevorzugt ein Praktikum im Ausland machen, wusste aber nicht genau wo. Daher war für mich von Vorteil, dass man bei der Bewerbung beim AA mehrere mögliche Einsatzorte angeben kann. Mit Hinblick auf mein Studienfach und meine berufliche Zukunft habe ich mich bewusst für den Bereich Presse und Kultur beworben, vor allem weil ich mir die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit einer Auslandsvertretung sehr spannend vorgestellt habe.

 

Wie hat Ihnen Vancouver als Praktikumsort gefallen?

Meiner Meinung nach ist Vancouver super geeignet für ein Praktikum. Im Amtsbezirk des Generalkonsulats leben viele Deutsche und es gibt viele Einrichtungen und Veranstaltungen mit Deutschlandbezug. Dementsprechend abwechslungsreich ist auch die Arbeit im Generalkonsulat. Zugegeben, das Leben in Vancouver ist nicht günstig. Dafür gibt es aber unzählige Ausgehmöglichkeiten, Events und atemberaubende Natur in der Umgebung. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist der im Vergleich zu anderen nordamerikanischen Städten wirklich gut ausgebaute öffentliche Nahverkehr. Man kommt schnell von A nach B, auch ohne Auto. Was viele außerdem nicht wissen: Vancouver gehört zu den drei großen Filmstädten in Nordamerika. Irgendwo wird immer gedreht. Und mit etwas Glück läuft man hier auch schon mal Schauspielern wie Dwayne Johnson oder Ryan Reynolds über den Weg.

 

Was raten Sie zukünftigen Praktikanten/Praktikantinnen?

Vor dem Praktikum: Organisatorisches wie Finanzierung und Visum am besten so früh wie möglich in Angriff nehmen. Während des Praktikums: Wer Eigeninitiative und Kreativität mitbringt, kann seine Zeit am Generalkonsulat in Vancouver umso spannender gestalten und braucht keine Angst vor eintönigen Aufgaben haben.

Vielen Dank liebe Isabelle!

Wettervorhersage, mittags Ortszeit (ohne Gewähr)

Ottawa:
(19.01.2018)
-1 °C

Wetter und Uhrzeit in Deutschland

Berlin:
12:49:50 11 °C
Deutscher Wetterdienst

Veranstaltung